Be Honest…Especially with yourself!

Alright, getting back on the Whole30 has not gone as planned.

After a very long day at work (Yes, I worked Memorial Day!), I was so tired and so just wanting a beer and chill with my girls, that I drank a beer. I know it is not Paleo…I know it is not Whole30, but it felt damn good. Well, a little bit.

I started to feel so tired that I just wanted to go to bed. Now, don’t get me wrong. I ate Paleo all day long. It was damn good. Wine is Paleo. I didn’t drink wine.

After some reflection,  I am really questioning my decision to do the Whole30 round 2. I prepared myself before. I am thinking that after less than a month I want to start again. I think I need to try to get back to the “lifestyle” side of Paleo and not the extreme Paleo cleanse of the Whole30.

So, here is what I am deciding to do and I am open to feedback:

  • I am going to hold off on the Whole30 because it would not be pure. My whole statement about “taking liberties and going off the Whole30 because of vacation” really messed with my mind.
  • I am going to keep the focus on the Emotional aspects of eating Paleo, my workouts, tidbits of information, and recipes. I want to get into a core focus of this lifestyle and not worry about DIETING!
  • I am going to see if I could lose weight while I am off the Whole30 and just eating Paleo. I want to find myself; find out who my true self really is!
  • I am going to be HONEST WITH MYSELF! I can’t go around and live my life on someone else’s terms. This is going to be for me.

I love the Whole30. I am going to do it again. This is not the right time for it. I am not there mentally. I don’t want to do anything half ass.

Finally, let me hit you up with this recipe!

Bacon Rainbow Chard and Eggs

  • 1.5 Tbsp Coconut Oil
  • 2-3 pieces of fatty bacon (either cooked or not)
  • 4-5 leaves of Rainbow Chard ripped apart roughly.
  • 5 eggs
  • crushed red pepper flakes to taste

In a medium pan, heat up your coconut oil. Add the bacon in roughly broken pieces. Once the bacon is 80% cooked, add the Rainbow Chard. Saute it in the pan for about 3-5 minutes. Add red pepper flakes to taste.

Once cooked, move the chard and bacon to a plate.

Add the eggs to the pan and cook to over easy. I like over easy because the yolks will break open and add some great flavor to the chard.

Once cooked, add the eggs to the top of the chard and bacon mix.

Eat and Enjoy!

Comments

  1. I love this post! and I especially love the bit about being honest with yourself. Its hard because this way of life does tend towards the extreme and the pure – we talk about sugar and starches being poison etc and they are – but sometimes I think that’s the wrong approach. The promoters of this lifestyle are passionate and desperate to get the ‘truth’ out there – and thank goodness they are – but us regular folks have got to live our lives and be happy – if the occasional beer with your girls does that for you then all I can say is….Cheers mate!!

  2. gainingthroughlosing says:

    Great post, thank you!

Leave a Reply

