My local CSA and my girls!

We just started our first season at our local CSA (Community Supported Agriculture). We go to Down to Earth Harvest in Kennett Square, PA.

downtoearthv1

It is great and Juliet got so excited to go “to the Farm!” We have even upgraded our membership to include Farm fresh cage-free eggs. We go through a lot of eggs, so I am going to get 2 dozen per week.

On Friday, we are going to check out our local Farmer’s Market. I would like to get to know and understand the local flavor that we have here. Our big think in Kennett Square is MUSHROOMS. I personally like all kinds of mushrooms, but they are not an everyday food.

I remember going to the farm growing up and picking strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, apples, pumpkins, and peaches. We have taken the girls to pick out their pumpkins and apples, but these are things they will eat. (Juliet loves Pumpkins because it is “Spooky Halloween” and her favorite color is Orange!)

I recently read an article about the convenience that we have to food when it comes to our kids. They are eating things I used to eat (fruit roll ups, crackers, cheese, sandwiches, waffles, fruit squeezes, etc.). I have found that it is very hard to teach healthy habits to my 3 year old. My 1 year old is a garbage disposal. She will eat anything or try anything. She is like her Daddy!

Victoria Moran is quoted in saying, “We do children an enormous disservice when we assume that they cannot appreciate anything beyond drive through fare and nutritionally marginal, kid-targeted convenience foods. Our children are capable of consuming something that grew in a garden or on a tree and never saw a deep fryer. They are capable of making it through dinner at a sit-down restaurant with tablecloths and no climbing equipment. Children deserve quality nourishment.” 

I agree with this statement and I struggle every day with this task. I am hoping over time and with getting my girls involved in the preparation of meals, the growing and picking of veggies/fruits, and the joy of food, that their tastes will change and they will look for healthier options.

Any suggestions with kids and Paleo will be greatly appreciated.

Comments

  1. Keep at it. My kids are now 10, 13 and 16 and while the 16 yo struggles not to be picky, the others eat what I put on the table. It’s a joy.

Leave a Reply

