Day 8- Beginning of Week 2…Trying new things

Of course, the day for me started at 1am, 4am, and then 4:45am. A little girl teething is NO FUN! Also, I was teaching a TRX class for Katrina at 5:45am. I had to get my ass into gear!

Breakfast early in the mornings are too hard. I am just not up and in the right mind set. Coffee seems to be the only thing that I would reach for, but on the Whole 30, my coffee drinking has been minimal. Drinking some water in the morning has helped to start my day. I did end up getting a small coffee, but I didn’t really start drinking it until later in my class.

I got the opportunity to sit down with Jean to talk about the Whole 30 together. I wanted to see how she was doing and what are her struggles. She stated that she is waking up each morning with a headache. I noticed that she seemed like she was in a fog or looking like her seasonal allergies were starting. The buds on the trees have been starting to bloom. I am usually bad with my seasonal allergies, but that evening, we slept with the windows open. We spoke a little longer about some recipe ideas. We both had some weak moments. I told her about my possible “slip up” and we talked about her texts regarding her wanting wine.

I changed a few things up at the beginning of week 2:

  1. I went on MyFitnessPal  to check on my caloric intake and my micro-nutrient breakdown. One of the calculators I really like to use is on EattoPerform.com. It calculate s my Basal Metabolic Rate (in a nutshell: the number of calories I would burn if I stayed in bed all day.) My BMR is 2,292 calories. My total daily expenditure, if I workout that day, is approximately around 3,347 calories. I am been eating probably around 1,800 to 2,000 calories per day. I am not eating enough!!!!
  2. I tried the beef broth as a snack or instead of coffee. It is very nice and refreshing. I only found one beef broth and one chicken stock that is really Whole 30 compliant. I can even make my own.
  3. I need to eat more veggies. I am eating a lot of leafy greens, asparagus, cauliflower, green beans, tomatoes, and avocado (fat). I need to branch out eat more veggies! I think that would help with the feeling full and the calorie deficit.
  4. I am doing a lot of interval training. I need to add sprint work and some “heavy” lifting days. One thing that I have learned over the years it that you need to increase muscle mass, as well as, lose body fat. You don’t want to be a skinny fat! http://ts2.mm.bing.net/th?id=H.5038126419542525&pid=15.1
  5. I need to spend more time trying to get out of the funk at the end of the days. I am going to work toward new ways to get more energy to finish the day strong.

Let me know if you have had any struggles or if you have any good ideas…

 

Leave a Reply

